T.G.I.F. Turkish Getups It’s Friday

2 days down, 23 to go with the KettleBelles’  W.O.D. advent calendar! Hopefully everyone is getting on okay with the challenges. Please drop us an e-mail at cambridgekettlebelles@gmail.com and let us know!

There is something that has been bothering me lately.  I keep seeing ’12 Days of Christmas’ advertisements/giveaways/specials. All of these started on December 1st.  My problem with this is that the 12 Days of Christmas actually don’t start until Christmas day. They run into January and (usually) end the evening preceding Epiphany. I’m sure all of our KettleBelles will agree that it just isn’t right to hold a 12 Days of Christmas special three weeks early, and this is why immediately following the end of our advent calendar challenge (on December 25th), we begin our 12 Days of Fitness challenge! More information to come later.

Anyway, back to the day.  I had a fantastic day with the challenges. The KettleBelles’ W.O.D. was short and sweet, and aptly named T.G.I.F.   I wrote this workout for a few reasons: 1.  I think TGUs are an excellent de-stressing exercise because they require focus throughout the whole move. 2. TGUs are fantastic for developing shoulder strength, and I know that practicing TGUs has made my military press better. 3. Star jumps are just plain fun! My intention wasn’t for everyone to time themselves doing this workout of the day because I would rather they focus on correct technique to get the maximum benefits of the exercise instead of flying through it incorrectly.  And then I woke up to a post by my KettleBelle in crime, Charlie Wall, saying she had done this W.O.D. in 6 min 30 seconds. I just knew I wouldn’t be able to NOT time myself when the time came for me to do it too!

Personal Best! 50 Burpees DONE.

I decided to start my day with the Hot Croatian Burpee Challenge that Adrijana is running. I really love doing burpees …  as long as I’m in bare feet. When I’m wearing trainers at bootcamp they seem so dreadful, and a large part of that is because trainers make feet feel clunky. So, I spread out my yoga mat in my living room, dressed minimally in a sports bra & boycut pants (for streamlining purposes), and just went for it!  Yesterday it took me just over 2 minutes to do 50 burpees.  I thought that was pretty fast, and wasn’t sure if I’d be able to beat it.  BUT, I’m happy to say that I PB’d on my burpees this morning and finished 50 in a time of 1 min 48.9 seconds.  I have no idea how the heck I’m gonna top that tomorrow, but it would be a shame to peak so early in the week! How long does it take you to do 50 burpees?

After finishing the W.O.D. for December 2nd!

We had a photo shoot at the studio today, so you’ll be seeing some new photos of Charlie & me popping up on the website, Facebook, and this blog!  I even tried to film a few 3D videos of my favorite kettlebell exercises, but I’m not sure how they’ll turn out. How cool will it be to have 3D workouts posted on our website? I can just picture all of our KettleBelle followers working out in their 3D anaglyph glasses!

This evening I decided to go back to the studio to film myself doing the KettleBelle W.O.D., do my Press-Ups to Failure Challenge, and get a sandball workout done with the new toys that Charlie has just bought.  I’ll post the video of my doing the T.G.I.F. workout tomorrow, for your viewing pleasure!  I ended up doing the workout in 6 minutes 18 seconds.  After I recovered, I did my press-ups and managed 28 full press-ups in a row before collapsing.

I finished off my day with a sandball smashdown workout. 5 rounds of 20 smashdowns with a sandball of unknown weight. I recovered for about a minute between rounds. This made me feel absolutely amazing and was the perfect way to end the day. A sandball is definitely on my xmas wishlist this year – it’s the perfect vacation workout toy!

I have some very exciting news to tell you all about! You’ll have to wait until tomorrow or  Sunday though, as it’s this KettleBelle’s bedtime.

xx

Donna

About Cambridge KettleBelles

Cambridge Kettlebelles is a women-only training centre based in Cambridge, England. We offer kettlebell & flexibility courses as well as drop-in foam rolling sessions. We can provide personal training for individuals, small groups, & companies. We have big plans for the future: a larger variety of courses, additional dates & times, and weekend getaways! We believe that ‘Strong is Sexy’ and use a variety of training methods (think kettlebells, suspension training, & bodyweight exercises) to increase strength, reduce fat, and help our clients achieve the shapely sculpted bodies they desire. We provide an effective nutritional plan and a women-only support site to complement training & maximize results!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

